When and where to register
After purchasing a used car or establishing residency, within the 30-day grace period, you need to register the vehicle at the Missouri Department of Revenue. Non-compliance may result in a fine or penalty of $25 for each month until you have complied. The same agency will also process the transfer of license plate the another car you own. Search for the nearest office by providing the your zip code. To start the titling process, fill out the title application form and submit it to an authorized officer along with other required documents.
Where to find the license plate
Missouri is one of the two-license plate states. In these states, car owners are required to place one license plate on the front, and another on the rear.
What the Missouri license plate contains
The official serial format contains four letters and two numerical digits in the form of “AB1 C2D” where the first letter corresponds to month of expiration. The license plate number is embossed dark blue on reflective white with red waves at top and blue waves at bottom. You will find the state seal in the center. You will also find the slogan “BICENTENNIAL” centered at top and then “1821 * 2021” centered at bottom.
License plate types available in Missouri
For more details, visit the Personalized and Specialty License Plates page.